The Capital Build Task Force,  a new task force announced today by the Ottawa Chamber of Commerce will bring its collective support and guidance to encourage Ottawa on a course of transformational growth.

Specifically, the Task Force has five priorities for city-building initiatives :  1) the expedited and steady redevelopment of LeBreton Flats, 2) the re-establishment of a train between Ottawa and Gatineau, 3) a timely redevelopment plan for new Civic Hospital, 4) a new vision and strategy for a revitalized Byward Market, and 5) a judicious balance of federal employment in the bedroom community of Orleans.

“With the completion of the Ottawa LRT now set for 2023, the National Capital Region is set to be connected from Orleans to Kanata, from Barrhaven to Gatineau,” said Doug McLarty, Chair of the Capital Build Task Force, and partner in MNP’s Ottawa office. “We have only to look at the successful programming of the 2017 Grey Cup — the recent Amazon bid, the Outdoor Classic and Canada 150 — to see how well the City works when it connects on great initiatives. Ottawa is more powerful when we work together.”

The Capital Build Task Force has enlisted business and community leaders from all sectors in Ottawa and Gatineau to fully back the City of Ottawa, the City of Gatineau, the National Capital Commission, and private industry who will work together to bring LeBreton Flats, the next phase of the LRT, the new Civic Hospital, the renewed Byward Market and more federal employment in the east end of Ottawa.

The Capital Build Task Force will focus its efforts on city-building and help pave the way through our collective energy and experience,” added Co-Chair Mr. McLarty.  “We want to make the Nation’s Capital a thriving smart city, with our great neighbours of Gatineau across the river.  We want this city to be a place where the next generation has a reason to stay, and where families will want to live, work and play. The timing to gather our forces could not be better.”

Capital Build Task Force


Doug McLarty                        Partner, MNP

Ruby Williams                       Senior Manager, Deloitte


Brian McIntomny                  Counsel, Mann Lawyers

Cheryl Jensen                        President, Algonquin College

Cindy VanBuskirk                 Advisor, Planning Department, City of Ottawa

Frank Bilodeau                      District VP, Ottawa and West Quebec, Scotiabank

Jasmine Brown                      Executive Director, Orleans BIA

Katherine Cooligan               Counsel, Bordner Ladner Gervais

Kevin Ford                              CEO, Calian Group

Mark Sutcliffe                        Broadcaster/Author

Maureen Murphy                  Principal, Maureen Murphy and Associates

Michael Crockatt                   President & CEO, Ottawa Tourism

Michael Curran                      Editor, Ottawa Business Journal

Mischa Kaplan                       Chair, West Ottawa Board of Trade

John Bourke                           President,  Eastern Ontario, Western Quebec Building and Trades Council

Ross Meredith                        General Manager, Westin Hotel

Samuel Gregg-Wallace         Chief of Staff, COO of  Shopify

Shawn Hamilton                    Senior Vice president, CBRE Limited, Real Estate

Susan St. Amand                    President, Sirius Financial Services


 Ottawa is more powerful together.