Committees, Councils and Task Forces

The Ottawa Board of Trade advocates for its members’ interests within the City of Ottawa. All Board of Trade members are encouraged to take a participatory role in the development of the Board of Trade’s policies by attending events and joining our committees. As members of the Ontario Chamber of Commerce and the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, we seek to promote our members’ views through both organizations. We have established the following committees, councils and task forces to help the staff and Board perform their duties in an effective manner.

All committees, councils and task forces report to the Board and have specific mandates. In most cases, they are responsible for developing considered policies within their areas of expertise that, once approved, are used to guide the Board of Trade staff on its actions.

Committees, councils and task forces are chaired by volunteers who are actively supporting the work of both the Board of Trade and businesses in our community.

Capital Build Task Force

Mandate: To function as the (1) leader and catalyst for plans, strategies, programs and services that promote a favorable business climate, (2) and improve the quality of life, and support the orderly growth, development and revitalization of the Nation’s Capital – on both sides of the Ottawa River.

Economic Growth Committee

Mandate: To research, support and provide policy/advocacy advice to the board and CEO on strategies for business growth and development within the Nations Capital

Chair: Amanda-Lyn Smith, Massage and Treatment Clinic

Ingrid Argyle, Employment Hub
Karen Butterfield, Employment Hub
Rob Campbell, Acumentum Consulting Group,
Joelle Hall, Hall O’Brien – Richardson GMP
Nick Quain, Invest Ottawa
Kumar Saha, My Place Home Care
Jeff Snyder, Capital Office Interiors
Peter Van Roon, RBC
Rob Woodbrige, Lyft
Carole Anne Piccinin, Ottawa Festivals
Shawn Hamilton, CBRE
Brian Simpson, City of Ottawa
Nathalie Pulcine, City of Ottawa
Karen Brownrigg, iHR Advisory Services

Environment & Sustainability Committee

Mandate: To focus on policy issues of sustainability for the community and the City of Ottawa, recognizing that any policy and program that will be put forth to the City must also contemplate the provincial and federal policies and initiatives that will interact with it.

Chair: James McNeil, JJ McNeil Commercial Inc.

Karen Butterfield, Ottawa Employment Hub
Steve Hubbard, Lightenco
Julie Lupinacci, Hydro Ottawa
Chris Pulfer, Posterity Group
Luke Tucker, Hyperion Global Energy
Terry Young, KRP Properties
Toon Dreessen, Architects DCA
Wayne French, Waste Management

Membership & Engagement Committee

Mandate: To continually assess the demographics of the Board of Trade’s membership, to formulate strategies that increase the value of the Board of Trade membership and to collectively promote the Board of Trade within Ottawa and internationally.

Priya Bhaloo, TAG HR
Shelley True, True Dot Desgin

Ted Carty, GradeA
Connie Hollett, Welch LLP
Brian Johnson, Cleland Jardine Engineering Ltd
Jennifer Reynolds, Fresh Legal 

Ambassador Corps

Mandate: Work to integrate new members into the Board of Trade, helping them to better understand our Value Proposition, facilitate introductions to fellow members and help them understand the benefits inherent in being involved.

Chair: Linda McCallum, Royal Lepage Team Realty Brokerage

Talent Development Committee

Mandate: Focused on providing Ottawa private sector businesses with the information, access and support to address one of their key business challenges – talent.

Wendy Trudel, Community Employment Resource Centre
James Baker, Keynote Group 

Nathalie Macarthur, Invest Ottawa
Ingrid Argyle, Ottawa Employment Hub
Karen Butterfield, Ottawa Employment Hub
Roddy Bolivar, Carp BIA
Brent Moore, uOttawa
Cathy McCallion, Ross Video
Sharon Rowan, Bruyère
-Julie Bélanger, Sodexo Canada

Immigration Sub-Committee

Mandate: The Immigration Sub-Committee will support a subset of the priorities of the Talent Committee, which “is focused on providing Ottawa private sector businesses with the information, access and support to address one of their key business challenges – talent”, with respect to newcomer and internationally-trained talent.

Chair: Karen Butterfield, Employment Hub

Kelly McGahey, Hire Immigrants Ottawa
Peter Van Roon, RBC

Transportation & Infrastructure Committee

Mandate: Provide policy recommendations to the Board of Directors and undertake actions in transportation and infrastructure; and be subject matter experts on areas within the purview of the Committee.

Chair: Greg Skotnicki, Market Maker Agriculture

Craig Bater, Augustine Bater Binks LLP 
Mark Nisbett, The Brookstreet Hotel

Council on Gender Equality

 Mandate: To create strategies and influence policies that advance gender equality; and to position Ottawa as a leader in women’s leadership.

Jennifer Cross, FLUX Lighting Inc.
Sabrina Fitzgerald, PwC Canada
Jackie King, Canadian Chamber of Commerce
Mischa Kaplan, Ottawa Tourism
Komal Minhas, Interviewer, Host and Speaker
Jorge Useche, RBC

Young Entrepreneurs & Professionals (YEP)

 Mandate: To create business and development opportunities for growing the next generation of leaders.

Andrew Scott, Pita Pit Ottawa
Vincent Baulne-Charland, BMO Nesbitt Burns   

Kyle Thomas, Invest Ottawa
Josh Raganold, Welch LLP
Jamie Petten, Kanata North Business Association
Marianne Cossette-Fortin, Ottawa Board of Trade
Leanne Plamondon, Ottawa Board of Trade

Sueling Ching, Ottawa Board of Trade
Stephen McIntyre, EY
Steve Georgopoulus


SME Council

Mandate: Focus on providing the Board of Trade with advice on marketing new and existing products and services, provide a conduit for members to express regionally based ideas, concerns and opportunities and work with staff to serve the entrepreneurial, micro-business and SME community, in providing information for start-ups and scaling their businesses.

Lynn Johnston, TD Bank
Andrew Scott, Pita Pit

Kevin Conroy, DNSnetworks Corporation
Debbie O’Connor, O’Connor Law


To join our Committees, Councils or Task Forces, contact